LibGuides: Surgical Technology Guide: eBooks

Nursing eBooks

eBook Collections for

Surgical Technology

The following databases are recommended when searching for eBooks relevant to Surgical Technology courses. Click the links below to access them. You may be prompted for your SPC username and password. If you have any difficulty accessing or searching the databases, please contact the Library.

eBooks

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref has authoritative medical, nursing and allied health information. Includes evidence based information, eBooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, anatomy flash cards, and board test prep. Covers coding, drug information, emergency care, nursing and more.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A collection of approximately 30,000 e-books in disciplines, including science, technology, medicine, and life sciences, with over 80,000 Spanish e-books from the elibro Premium collection.
eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
More than 250,000 full text electronic books.

The databases below have content from specialized reference works including some health and medical titles.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Salem Press Online This link opens in a new window
An e-book database that gives online access to books that you will find on our library shelves. This database covers literature, history, science, health and careers.

Learning Express Library is a database with practice tests for entrance and certification exams such as the TEAS and NCLEX. You must sign up for a free account to access these practice tests.

Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Check out standardized test-preparation materials including tutorials and/or practice tests for academic and licensing tests such as the GMAT, GRE, MCAT, Corrections Officer Practice Tests, Praxis I; Praxis II: Subject Assessments, TOEFL Practice Tests, and more.
Learning Express Recursos en Español This link opens in a new window
Learning Express module that is in Spanish.

Suggested Nursing eBook titles

Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by Jane C. Rothrock
Call Number: Retrieve from eBook Collection in Databases (Ebsco eBook)
ISBN: 9780323479141
Publication Date: 2018-02-23
Prepare for success on your CNOR certification exam and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training to assist in the operating room. (read more in the record)
Transcultural Health Care by Larry Purnell
Call Number: Retrieve from eBook Collection in Databases (Ebsco eBook)
ISBN: 9780803638952
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Prepare yourself for the culturally rich and ethically diverse world in which you will practice
Guide to Culturally Competent Health Care, 3rd Edition by Larry D. Purnell
Call Number: Retrieve from eBook Collection in Databases (Ebsco eBook)
ISBN: 9781306987776
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Be prepared for the culturally rich and diverse world of healthcare This concise, easy-to-read handbook prepares you to relate to individuals from different cultures. Use it in class and clinical now and as a reference throughout your career. The Purnell Model is your guide as you explore 34 different cultures and the issues that you need to be sensitive to including cultural variations regarding personal space, dietary preferences, communication, symptom management, activities of daily living, and religious and health practices."
Understanding Medical Surgical Nursing (5th Edition) by Linda Williams
Call Number: Retrieve from eBook Collection in Databases (Ebsco eBook)
ISBN: 0803642261
Publication Date: 2015-01-09
Master the whys & hows of Medical-Surgical Nursing. Here's everything you need to know to care for adult medical-surgical patients and pass the NCLEX-PN®. Easy-to-understand guidance helps you confidently grasp the principles, concepts, and skills essential for practice. Rely on the Study Guide for Understanding Medical-Surgical Nursing for even more practice! Each chapter corresponds to a chapter in the text. You'll find critical-thinking exercises ; matching and true/false tests ; word scrambles ; crosswords puzzles ; vocabulary review exercises ; and NCLEX-PN® style questions that will prepare you for classroom and professional success"--Provided by publisher.