LibGuides: Child Development Guide: Articles

Recommended Databases

for Child Development

The following databases are recommended when searching for articles relevant to child development. Click the links below to access them. You may be prompted for your SPC username and password. If you have any difficulty accessing or searching the databases, please contact the Library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Extensive index to educational literature containing some 1.5 million items, including journal articles, unpublished documents, research reports, curricular materials, etc.

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
ERIC is an online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Flipster
Flipster is a browseable, fulltext magazine collection. It includes two prominent child development publications: Exchange and YC (Young Children). Both can be found through the Flipster title search box or by selecting the Academic category.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine

Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Updated daily, this resource will help allied health professionals as well as students find content related to child health and development in authoritative resources like academic journals.
Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window
Authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.

Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Health Research Premium Collection offers a central access point to a variety of essential medical content from ProQuest’s Health & Medical Collection, MEDLINE, Nursing & Allied Health Database, and more. Subject coverage includes (but is not limited to): Anatomy, Physiology, Pharmacology, Microbiology, and Pathology, as well as coverage of diseases of all body systems.
Primal Pictures (Anatomy.tv) This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures contains 3D anatomy models for use with anatomy and physiology courses.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collections This link opens in a new window
An EBSCOhost database indexing 550+ scholarly/peer-reviewed journals back to 1965 on a wide range of psychiatric and psychological subjects. Updated daily.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref has authoritative medical, nursing and allied health information. Includes evidence based information, eBooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, anatomy flash cards, and board test prep. Covers coding, drug information, emergency care, nursing and more.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
TRC includes journal articles covering a variety of topics of interest to teachers, including assessment, curriculum development, standards, and continuing education.
Teachingbooks.net This link opens in a new window
TeachingBooks.net provides original, in-studio movies of authors and illustrators, and a wealth of multimedia resources on K–12 books to support reading and library activities for all grades and content areas.