LibGuides: Nursing Guide: Articles

Nursing Databases

The following databases are recommended when searching for articles relevant to nursing. Click the links below to access them. You may be prompted for your SPC username and password. If you have any difficulty accessing or searching the databases, please contact the Library.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 9,810 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Full text and citations for nursing and allied health periodicals.
Gale Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Gale Health and Wellness offers 24/7 access to full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. With more than 2,500 embargo-free, full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries, Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine ensures that researchers get current, scholarly, comprehensive answers to health-related questions.
Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Health Research Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
In the medical field, access to the latest health care information is always essential, whether it's for students, researchers, medical professionals, hospital administrators, or even for patients and their families. This database addresses these diverse needs by offering a central access point to a variety of essential content. Health Research Premium Collection serves a wide range of users with a broad collection of journals, evidence-based resources, and full-text dissertations, and includes the top ProQuest health and medical databases.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for other journals.
Learning Express Library This link opens in a new window
Check out standardized test-preparation materials including tutorials and/or practice tests for academic and licensing tests such as the GMAT, GRE, MCAT, Corrections Officer Practice Tests, Praxis I; Praxis II: Subject Assessments, TOEFL Practice Tests, and more.
MedicLatina This link opens in a new window
Index of Spanish & Portuguese-language medical research & investigatory journals with some full-text.
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Provides citations from current biomedical journals. Topics covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Evidence based information from Micromedex. This includes all the unbiased, referenced information about drugs, toxicology, diseases, acute care, and alternative medicine you need to make informed clinical diagnosis and treatment decisions.
Primal Pictures (Anatomy.tv) This link opens in a new window
Primal Pictures contains 3D anatomy models for use with anatomy and physiology courses.
PUBMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 25 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
The SciTech Premium Collection includes the Natural Science Collection, Technology Collection, and Biological Science Collection databases and provides full-text titles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
STAT!Ref has authoritative medical, nursing and allied health information. Includes evidence based information, eBooks, medical dictionaries, medical calculators, anatomy flash cards, and board test prep. Covers coding, drug information, emergency care, nursing and more.